![]() |
Administrators :extrascasting | |
| Forum The Grapevine |
Not logged | Login
|
|
| Online:There are 9 online. Click here to see more | ||
Register |
Profile |
Private messages |
Search |
Online | Help
| Create a free blog | ||
![]() | ||
|
| ![]() | ![]() |
| Author : | Topic: Scan Alert - REM Talent & Models | Bottom |
| hawk66 Posts : 20 |
I went to REM after a phone invite. Adults are $5000? They said my daughter could go for $1500. This was for airfare and hotel from what they said. Another $1200 for the parent though. Didn't take them up on their offer. They were sending her to a real event called IMTA in LA but if we really wanted to go their we could have gotten there alot cheaper. I guess they have over priced classes on modeling and acting there. It seem a little like John Robert Powers with a different name. John Robert Powers has alot of scam alerts on the web. --Last edited by hawk66 on 2008-01-24 01:50:45 -- |
| Moviestar Posts : 68 Public Enemies=Great Movie!!! |
Dude, one of the ones i have gone to... one of the ladies turned out to be the head of casting for UNIVERSAL STUDIOS! and i been in touch with her for many years since then! she went on to be head of casting at new line cinema. learning a little about Hollywood along the way might help, i've always known it to be tricky finding ones way through it all. the one where you get to travel with as the parent would be a very neat trip, anywayz!!! Moviestar |
| hawk66 Posts : 20 |
Moviestar, Did you go to REM, JRP or to IMTA. I know IMTA is for real. It happened 2 weeks ago. What I am questioning is the price of REM and all their programs just like JRP. They claim just like JRP certain people go thru their program and become stars. There is no way to substantiate their claims. JRP has been doing it for years and getting sued. |
| Moviestar Posts : 68 Public Enemies=Great Movie!!! |
Dude, in addition to the information i sent you in private, there used to be a great Extra Casting Seminar by Shirley Telly it was called the Sparks Seminar for $20 and was a really good deal! Originally i took a class called actors studio and i still run into some of the other students from there. I noticed the teacher from that class is still around, Paul Cook. he also starred in a lot of commercials himself and is the doctor in the movie "Somewhere In Time" he's still in commercials every now and then. (he was also the president of the Screen Actors Guild in Detroit, once, too!!!) that class was several hundred dollars... but, again, i feel it was worth it! Moviestar |
| hawk66 Posts : 20 |
I never got a private message from you but these place like REM and JRP want a couple thousands of dollars not a few hundred. Here is a posting from a website a few years ago about the scam. Don't know if they have changed much since then. When I went to an invite to JRP they thru alot of names out and that was in 2006. REM did the same thing and that was last year. http://www.2nd-tier.com/showfax_bbs/index.cgi?noframes;read=4985 Hawk --Last edited by hawk66 on 2008-01-24 23:00:36 -- |
| authormike moderator Posts : 296 |
Watch out. Glamor Model and Talent is posting on Craig's List again. MAJOR SCAM. |
| Bruce moderator Posts : 86 "Acting is listening" ![]() |
As usual, Google is your friend... Click this link: http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/0/318/RipOff0318805.htm -Bruce |
| authormike moderator Posts : 296 |
Another scam that's resurfaced lately on Craig's List is Glamor Model and Talent. They are mainly interested in selling you expensive pictures. |
| shaggy85 Posts : 15 |
Has anybody heard anythign about One Source Talent. I "applied"on their website this past sunday. They called me later in the day and wanted to set up an interview for this Wednsday. I said sure and asked them if I had to pay for anything at this interview and they said no. I still want to go but I want to make sure what I am doing first. Any help would be appreciated. | |||
| Shaggy |
| Bruce moderator Posts : 86 "Acting is listening" ![]() |
Shaggy85 -- Sorry I did not see this sooner, but in case it is not too late... OneSource Talent is another complete scam. Stay away. The following is from the forums at Backstage.com: http://bbs.backstage.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/9131061/m/158106571 OneSouce.com is nothing but a scam. They are NOT a licensed agency, which means they cannot legally take a percentage of any work you do anyway. This is always the first clue. This means they do not care to try to get you work, since they know they could be prosecuted if they did so, and then tried to take the usual 10%, or 20% for print, etc. That should be the tipoff that they merely want YOu to give them money, perhaps for amateur headshots, or for useless comp cards, or for a listing in their own inhouse magazine, or for special "training," or for a listing at their website. Regardless, no one will hire you because of this relationship. You will be asked to fork over money to them. You will receeive nothing in return to help your career. You will get screwed. End of story. The same is true of REM. The same is true of Glamour. Be forewarned. The real agents: cannot require you to pay them money in order for them to represent you. The real agents: might tell you you need better head shots, but they will then give you a LIST of true outsiders to consider. They will also not insist you must use one of those photographers. They cannot do that. The real agents: most are listed at the SAG web site as SAG agents (and most of them also will work with non-union talent, especially in this town). All of those are real agents (although their are two on that list who are rather lousy agents, at least they are real and licensed, and they do send their talent out to audition.) The real agents: might ask if you wish to be posted on their website, but you can decline (and you should decline, since no casting director really casts from that anyway). The real agent will still rep you, even though you said "no" to the listing. The real agents do NOT offer training. The real agents do not ask you to pay for a photoshoot or spread in any magazine (a magazine which, by the way, cannot be found anywhere except in the lobby of OneSource, or REM, or Glamour...) This so-called "magazine" is self-published merely so you cannnot come back and sue them for not delivering what they said they would deliver... An appearnce or ohotoshoot for a magazine. The only people who will open that magazine are other naive new models and actors, sitting in that same lobby, a few weeks from now. Hope this helps... -Bruce |
|
| ![]() | ![]() |
Get a free forum!
AceBoard Free Forum v 5.3
Download Premium Web Templates!